One more RAW question.

darkpbstar

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
ok so I put all my RAW photos I took today into my PictureProject program I got with my D40. Now I'm able to view the RAWs, so I'm getting closer. Now, if I pick some to do some pp to, then when I do the pp and convert to jpeg after the pp, will my adjustments save? That should be all. Thank you

I am really new at this so this thread is interesting to me too. Just messing around with my Digital Photo Professional program that came with my Canon, I could adjust the raw image and save it as a RAW. I went back and edited it again. So, I guess I could adjust a RAW image as often as I would like and save each change to a JPEG and have several different versions of the same picture.

Is that correct? Anyone?:scratch:

maybe, as long as you always have that original RAW, you should be able to save as many as possible, but what I need is if I make changes, and save the changes as a jpeg, will they be as good as the changes while it was in RAW?

I don't believe that PictureProject allows you to save RAW files (someone pls correct me if this is incorrect) it's more of a management/transfer tool with very basic PP tools. For serious PP, you may want to look at Nikon Capture NX.

Crosby, you are correct. It's important to remember that only Nikon software will allow you to actually save changes to Nikon RAW files (and I assume the same for Canon). All of the other RAW handlers simply write a file containing the PP date you applied, which the software looks at when it opens the picture and then re-applies.