Parabolic umbrella tips

pixelboy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi folks. I've just taken delivery of a 62 inch Lastolite Mega silver parabolic umbrella. I also have recently bought the UK version of the Godox ( Cheetah ) 360 flash. I'm new to both of these so I'm on a bit of a curve.

Can someone please give me a couple of basic pointers as to how to use the umbrella. I'm guessing I want it pointed a bit above, to the side and angled down towards the subject as per normal and I'm guessing this umbrella would function best a few feet away rather than close up; maybe about 10ft. Does this sound about right?

I'd appreciate a correction if I'm on the wrong track here.

Second re the flash. I've loads of power in this one and I'm guessing I should use it bare bulb ( without the supplied reflector ) to bounce the light all over the surface area of the umbrella. Does this sound right?

Again if I'm wrong, please correct me.

Thanks for your help :)

Your best bet is to set it up, and practice. Move it far, close, up, down, vary the angles, vary the power, etc. That practice swag will be a million times more useful than any tips I could give you.

Jake

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

There's so much more than can be put in a hundred posts; check out YouTube and this will be the best $30 you EVER spent on lighting!

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
I looked at the flash design on-line here CHEETAH Light CL-180 ? Bare Bulb HSS Flash ? Review | FLASH HAVOC