People in Glasses

RedWylder

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
How do you go about taking portraits of people with glasses? I find that the reflections are annoying and take away from the eyes. Is there some way to keep them from reflecting?

I know I'm no expert, but won't a CPL take care of most reflections from glasses?

Hopefully the people are wearing non reflective lenses ;)

I have this issue with my son in law. I just have him remove his glasses or wear his contacts when we take his photo.

but I am going to keep this handy as I want to see what other people have to say :) ..

Get some frames without lenses.
Take some pictures of people without their glasses on so you have some "good" eyes to work with.
Failing that, do as I did on a VERY hungover weekend after my friends stag do... clone out the glasses :banghead:

I know I'm no expert, but won't a CPL take care of most reflections from glasses?
That depends on the reflective qualities of the glass...and even if there is Polarized Direct Reflection, it will never be more than 50% of the total direct reflection. So no, you can't get rid of it with a polarizer.

Is there some way to keep them from reflecting?
The reflection you see on the glasses is a direct reflection of the light source. Imagine that the glasses are a mirror, and if you are looking at them (from the angle of the camera), if you could see your light source in those mirrors...then the light source is in the 'family of angles' of the glasses, and thus you will see the direct reflection.

The key to getting rid of the reflection is to move the lights outside of the 'family of angles'. In other words, move your lights (or change the position/pose of the person) so that there are no light sources where they will be reflected by the glasses.