photo edditing, I need help!

dandlion

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Im a total noob when it comes to pretty much allthings photography, but especially with edditing. im looking for a book that would help me with the technical stuff as well as the artistic part of edditing. so do you guys have any suggestions? also any books on photography in general that i should read? any suggestions you could give would be greatly appreciated thank!

ps im really excited about this site because i need all the help i can get with my new hobby

There are a milllion or more books on each topic (or at least it seems like there are). For editing, you really should buy books specific to the application(s) you are using for editing, in other words, if you're using Corel PaintShop Pro, then there's not much point in buying a book based on Adobe's Photoshop Elements.

For books on general photography, there are so many that IMO, the best thing to do is head down to a big book store, and look at what's on the shelf and choose one(s) you like. Petersen's 'Understanding Exposure' is frequently recommended. While I'm not a huge fan of it myself, it does cover the basics of exposure reasonably well.

Advanced amateur and professional photographers strive at getting a photo as close to the desired finished photo in the camera as possible, rather than relying on editing.
Each edit has a cost. The cost is some reduction in image quality (IQ). How much IQ is reduced depends on the bit depth of the photo and how extensive the edit is.

In the tutorials Ysarex linked you to is a group called Photo Editing Tutorials. The first tutorial in that group discusses bit depth and how bit depth related to editing.

Books on editing tend to be software application specific.

GIMP.org and Photoscape.org are online open source applications that you can download at no charge.
GIMP 2.6 for Photographers: Image Editing with Open Source Software