Photo Shoot Question

snphotography

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi Guys!! I have a question. I am currently a student a New York Institute of Photography studying Professional Photography. I have a couple of family photo shoot opportunities. I have never done a single photo shoot in my life and I'm just a student. I was just going to do it for free but one of the families asked what I charge. Since that one asked . . . . . what do you think would be a fair number? Keep in mind . .I have never done this before!!!!! It's a family of 4 if that helps any. Thanks. :)

Is this a joke?

You're studying PROFESSIONAL PHOTOGRAPHY, but never did a photoshoot?

I hope you're not paying for that education..............

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

On to your actually question....I charge $60/hr just for my time. And then it breaks down into whatever they wants, digital copies, prints, etc.

First time shooter....I'd charge $50 for one hour with all the photos on a CD.

No it's not a joke!! I just started the class a few months ago! Give me a little slack! My family doesn't like to to have their picture's taken and either do most of my friends :(

Since you're just starting out, my first question is: Are you any good? Good photographs are worth some money, crappy photos are not.

As to what to charge; there are various sources on the internet, but if you try to get top dollar for crumby photos, the customers will be disappointed and tell others how disappointed they are.

If you do it for free, you can explain to them that you intend to use their photographs in your portfolio, and ask them to sign a model release.

Good luck!

No it's not a joke!! I just started the class a few months ago! Give me a little slack! My family doesn't like to to have their picture's taken and either do most of my friends :(