Photographing Children

desmondlewissmith

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.dumasphotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
OK, so I'm a pretty experienced photographer and I've been shooting for a long time. I took a break but I'm starting to advertise again. Here's my dilemma:

Photographing Children has become pretty lucrative. I feel like shooting pictures of Children can be somewhat boring and I want to spice it up but I'm not sure how.

Sure I know that if you produce a nice clean image with a shallow depth of field and a little bokeh; parents go gaga... but I would like to start outshooting the soccerMoms that have a lot more time than I do and yielding results that make Costco Camera Shooters find their reciept...

My history is, I've shot weddings, lot of them. They allow creativity and pay wall. I've shot models galore. Most want to be shot TFP, I've obliged several times in the past because it's always fun shooting attractive people.

Kids are like Gremlins, some explode, some implode, some cry, some scream, some pose...

Any suggestions to some cool stuff you've done or tried with Children?

Attachments

• $photo.jpg
    $photo.jpg
    58.1 KB · Views: 204
Last edited:
You're making money with shots like the one you posted?

Short answer yes. I'm getting a lot more requests for natural lighting and non-studio shots. I prefer studio as I have complete control over my background and lighting the subject.

I assume by your question you have a critique? And yes I realize the sleeves are blown out, they are not in the original color image. I converted to small jpg then black and white with the small jpg. There was not enough data in the jpg but the original was shot with my Nikon D3X. I'll try to find a way to post the original.

Thank being said, my question was in the form of "ideas for more interesting shots", not "how do you get paid with that?"