photorelease question.

flyin-lowe

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I know people say you should be flattered etc. but the majority of the pics that my wife has printed for her scrapbooks is just some 4x6 at Walmart, Wal greens etc. Here lately my wife and my mother have been told they couldn't pick up the pictures because they are pro's. I understand their concern but from a newbie wouldn't it make more since for the stores to put the burden on a photographer to try to protect their images with watermarks etc.as opposed to having some min. wage teenager deciding what pics my wife can get. I know with the high quality scanners out today you can scan an original that is not watermarked and get it printed, but if I had the money to do all that I would not be using walmart for my prints. I might just start sending stuff out to Adorama or other places to avoid the hastle. I guess if I was a pro and making money at this I might feel different I just can't help but wander what makes them think I would get pro quality photos printed at the 1 hour pharmacy. Funny part is that Wal Greens told me to come in and sign a release and then my wife could get the pics. I asked the manager how me signing a piece of paper would insure that all the pics she prints are from me. She said good point, I don't know. Just a rant but it gets annoying.

I've heard of it and on one occasion my local drugstore also tried to refuse to hand me my own prints.

What a joke.

It's ok to an extent that the stores try to protect copyright holders so illegal prints are not getting out there. However, if all it takes is to sign a waiver stating the you are the copyright holder - geez I'd do it just to get it over with - but to refuse to hand out "pro" images is a joke.

Actually they should be happy that "Pros" are using their services.

We typically don't put watermarks on images that are sold as final prints. Proof yes, but not on final prints.