Photoshop Elements and post processing.

AMOMENT

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
How much are you doing and what are you doing? I know this is relative to the photo/genre/ type but perhaps you guys can throw out some standard but very effective tips. I have photoshop elements 9. To be honest I am not doing much post processing.
I recently got photoshop elements and do not know my way around it too thoroughly yet. Most of my photos have had the saturation and contrast slightly increased and eyes sharpened. That's it. I'm still learning the layers concept. I tend to not use layers; probably because I don't totally understand them. I get that it is a process of hiding "masking" and exposing/selecting certain aspects of the photo but I end to get messed up in the progression of multiple layers. Also, I often use the quick selection tool which is, of course subject to the flaw of movement of my hand, to outline people. Once I have outlined them I sometimes work on brightening just them and then select the inverse to work on background., as you can see, I'm an amateur! I have a Nikon D31oo a standard lens it came with 18055mm f/4.8.......and a 50mm f/1.4 lens. I shoot either RAW or RAW/fine jpg.

When I sharpen the eyes, I literally use the quick select tool to outline both eyes and then unsharp mask and sharpen. I know this has got to be wrong and vulnerable to flaw!

Check out photokaboom.com - I think that's the address. It has tutorials on everything you need to know in elements 9. I used that website a lot when learning elements 9. The great thing about layers is you aren't touching the original image during editing so you can go back and change/erase the things you have done.

Last edited:
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.