pictures keep coming out blurry

dahamsta7

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
hey everyone. complete noob to photography and the forum so hellos off the bat.

ive been taking pics trying to practice but most of them keep coming out blurry when it comes to people. i keep changing shutter speed and aperature but keep running into the same problems.

ive got a canon t2i, 18-55 is lens. heres some info on a couple to give an example. sorry i cant put the exact link cuz of post count. any insight or tips would be great. thanks!

iso 3200
shutter speed 1/13
ap 4.0
pic url: img.photobucket.com/albums/v65/dahamsta7/IMG_9210.jpg?t=1294288897

iso 3200
shutter speed 1/15
ap 4.0
pic url: img.photobucket.com/albums/v65/dahamsta7/IMG_9209.jpg?t=1294288942

IMG_9210.jpg

IMG_9209.jpg

You're gonna wanna post those pics directly instead of links.

Your focus fell on the cabinet behind the people. Shutter speed is way too low and you're catching movement from the people moving.

why are you shooting with ISO set to 3200?

your shutter speed is too slow to hand hold the camera. If you are shooting at ISO 3200 and such a slow speed you must not have enough light?

If you're shooting at 3200 ISO you could probably up your shutter speed some. What mode were you shooting in?

Shutter speed is too slow for handheld photos. Thats why they are blurry.

I think it is recommended to use one 30th to one 60th of a second or faster shutter speed (depending how steady the photographer is) for handheld shooting.

And yes you should probably be using a lower ISO setting... Read THIS for a bit o help with these issues...

I've been shooting in AV. I had the ISO set to auto so didn't think I had to worry about that.

I kept increasing shutter speed but the pictures kept getting darker.

I was using auto focus so i take it thats why it focused on the cabinet. if i had been in manual and focused on the people, would it still be motion blurry?