Please criticize my work. Trying to start on stock photography coming from art

domingos

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey guys,

First of all, let me introduce myself and give you a very brief overview of my experience as a photographer. I'm pretty new to stock photography in general but I've been in photography as a hobby for many years now (since 1994). However, I'm very rusty and not very familiar with the digital photo world. I used to shoot my old pentax K1000 (always B&W art), develop and print my work at home, where I used to keep a darkroom. But I stayed away from shooting for years and got back 3 years ago, first very lightly and more seriously since the end of last year. My equipment is a Nikon D5000 with Nikkor lens 18-55 and 55-300. For post development I've been using Adobe Lightroom 4.

I've submitted 3 photos with my application to iStockPhoto and got a rejection. I can see flaws in all of them (almost no picture is perfect, right?), but as I'm not familiar with iStockphoto standards (I still have questions even after reading their material on it), it's not very clear to me why they got rejected. Maybe something on my poor Lightroom skills? Could you please give me your opinion? I'm very open to it and would really appreciate any comments. I've included four more photos here, if you don't mind. I'm sorry to bother you but I really would like to see your opinion on these ones too.

Rejected ones:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/oa0udpycew7jono/sauipe_cerca_pb_MD.jpg

https://www.dropbox.com/s/zkgkrv110c6oujw/cobra_Verde_1_MD.jpg

https://www.dropbox.com/s/5bore8eaps7p2tm/veropeso_perfumes_MD.jpg

Extras:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/1e4eysadf0srrfw/cascavel_MD.jpg

https://www.dropbox.com/s/nmdescum95sfnpl/cobra_Verde_2_MD.jpg

https://www.dropbox.com/s/jv15xtuntjcvn2i/borboleta_grande_MD.jpg

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ozh0r9wj6rbbe2l/esquilo_MD.jpg

Thank you so much for your help,

Domingos.