Please critique my photo!

LindseyTorres

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello All,

I am very new to photography and would like some input on composition and editing. Why does this picture work, or not work and where should I begin editing. Thanks!

IMG_0953.jpg

Lindsey

Hello and welcome to the forum!! You will find a lot of professionals here who will give you a lot of great advice...I'm not one of them ;).

However! I will tell you what I see. I think this is a great composed picture. I think the rule of thirds is used pretty well and it looks like you did a decent job at focusing on her eyes. That is the #1 thing I have learned of importance so far is focusing on the eyes. Maybe you could use a little flash next time to warm it up a bit. The exposure looks nice and I really like the way her reflection shows as well. The DoF looks great too!

The only thing that is really distracting me is the little bit of hair that blew into her left eye.

Hope that helps a little.

I like the reflection, you might crop out some of the space behind her.

I think the crop is fine already. I like to keep my crop aspect 3:2. It looks like there is not much you can do other than adjusting the raw file.

if you know some photoshop.. you can edit it like this
littlegirl.jpg

I wouldn't crop it either, the way the lines are they flow naturally to your subject and I love the reflection. The colors are a bit neutral so you should fiddle with them to your liking. Sharpen her eyes, nose and lips and play around with sharpening all or just parts of her hair too.

Schwettylens's is a bit too soft and her skin's a bit blotchy.

Schwettylens's is a bit too soft and her skin's a bit blotchy.

Thats really depends what you are trying to achieve. Sure I can clone out the red blemishes.. Didnt know you have to be perfect when you do a quick edit.