Please Help Advice Next Lens For Canon Camera

fst2011

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I first want to say that this forum had lots of great info to share. I spent some time searching this forum for ideas and advice but still am not sure best lens to buy.

I'm a newbie and need some pro advice...please.

I just got a Canon Rebel T3i with the 18-55mm lens, and have the 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Telephoto Zoom lens.

My wife grows lots of plants and I also live near NYC. I want to be able to take really close pics of her flowers and insects :D and I also want to take some great shots of nyc buildings and busy streets.

The Problem:

I found this on Amazon and was not sure if this item would work for me " Digital Concepts +1 +2 +4 +10 Close-Up Macro Filter Set with Pouch 55mm "

OR

Should I get a "fish eye" type lens? Or both?

Last question...if you suggest getting the lens, does it have to be by Canon? I thought I read somewhere that some "no name" brands work just as good.

Thanks so much in advance for the time and advice,
Mike S

Your existing EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS and EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM lenses both have 58mm filter threads. The 55mm kit that you found will not fit. However, even if you get the 58mm version of that kit for $7.11, you may be disappointed in the image quality.

Have you looked at the Kenko extension tube set? You can put extension tubes between your camera body and your 70-300mm lens to allow it to focus more closely. You lose the ability to focus to infinity, but this is a cheaper option than purchasing a dedicated macro lens.

If you will be doing a lot of close-ups you will want to have a tripod.

I'll also 2nd the extension tube option if you don't want to fork out for a macro lens. The macro filter's will give you $7.99 worth of quality.

Well fish eye and macro are two different things. Which did you want? close ups or wide angles?