Please help me improve!! C & C please!

linpelk

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've been eating, sleeping, breathing photography lately. My kids are SO SICK of me taking their pictures. They won't even respond to me anymore if I'm within 5 feet of the camera. I'm afraid one day they will start to run toward the road and when I yell their name, they will not listen. I need to practice on someone else...soon!!!!

Here are a couple from a walk at the Japenese Gardens near our home. Please let me know what you think. I hate to bother other people to photograph their kids if I'm just wasting their time. Thank you for any input.

3596841956_5f215509f2_b.jpg

3596830176_cfc6a77586_b.jpg

3596840950_48ff0ff58c_b.jpg

I'm not technically advanced, but I can say I'd like to be able to get photos like these of my own kids! :)

Nice compositions. #2 looks overexposed. Did you use fill flash on this, or all of these?

I could see these in a portfolio.

Thanks. I didn't use any additional light source for Pic #1, but I had a reflector for pic #2 and #3. I really need to get someone to help me though. It's so hard to take pictures AND hold the reflector AND watch that the 2 year old doesn't fall into the Koi pond!

I'm not on a calibrated monitor at the moment, but I'll do a quick C&C.

On this monitor they all look overexposed. And I think all three images could be warmed up a bit...they look a little on the cool side. And a little more color saturation would be nice.

#1 - This one is just slightly overexposed...you're losing detail in the sleeve of the jacket. I like the composition but would have liked to see the shot taken from a slightly lower POV.

#2 - This one is overexposed...lots of hot spots. I like the composition but maybe place the subject a little more towards the right so that it's not so tight on the backside...or maybe go in tighter to the subject.