Portrait Practice - Total noob, part 2

transformed

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Different girls- more practicing. I am learning that toddlers do not love strobes! Critique at will- abuse is good for the soul!

mollyhannahforforum.jpg

mollyforum.jpg

Wow, more nice work!

1. Well done; I love the expressions on the girls faces. The eyes in the girl camera left are perfect. Good conversion, but again, somewhat under-exposed. How are you metering? Perhaps bracket 1/2 & 2/3 stop over next time?

2. Again, well done. Good lighting, nice set-up; my only comment here is that a subject in a black shirt against a black background isn't ideal; perhaps a blue shirt to coordinate with her jeans?

Keep up the good work!

Just my $00.02 worth - your mileage may vary.

~John

John-

Thanks for the vote of confidence! It means a lot-

1. Regarding metering- I use a sekonic l308s light meter. I have been using it in the strobe/cord mode. I think I MUST be doing something wrong. I take the reading under the subject's chin which I think is correct- and I am generally using two or three strobes. (I am limited to a small garage space. As soon as I win the lotto, I'll rectify that problem. lol) Anyway- the meter reading always seems really high. Like say it's calling for F5.6- I'll go and shoot a test shot and it seems blown out. Although- I have really only been viewing the tests in the LCD. But generally I end up stopping down the lights and aperture down further, trying different things until I hit something that seems okay. UGGH! Did I mention I am a NOOB??