Preggo Pics, CC please

Desi

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey all, I'm relatively new to flash photography. I roped in some willing victims. My friends were willing to help me out and I think I got a few nice shots for them. They have 2 months to go, so I can probably try again.

I'm new to flash as well as shooting "models" and for this photo shoot I had a few limitations (single light, no backdrop). I had a very hard time trying to get my settings right and trying to direct them at the same time. I didn't realize how hard it is to pose people and keep them loose and smiling. These were taken with a single off camera flash at about 30 degrees, D90 with SB700. Shot in my garage with dark wooden door as backdrop.

Let me know what I can do to improve these shots and to do better for next time. Thanks.

1. Using a home-made snoot

DSC_0879.jpg by Javier Descalzi, on Flickr

DSC_0927.jpg by Javier Descalzi, on Flickr

DSC_0887.jpg by Javier Descalzi, on Flickr

4. I know, I cut off her hand.

DSC_0902.jpg by Javier Descalzi, on Flickr

These are more personal opinions then critiques. I find the angling in #1 awkward. I think he should be little lower looking up rather then eye level with her belly. #2 & #4 look kind of odd because with the clothing and poses it's like she's trying to look sexy. It's says more sexy model who happens to be pregnant rather then maternity.I think #3 wouldve looked nicer from a different angle rather then dead on. But again, more personal opinions.

Last edited:
Thanks for your comments. I've got a lot to learn.

I think you did well for a first try though! And really don't take what I said too seriously. I don't know much at all about people portraits I was just stating what stuck out to me. If someone with more experience says something completely different then what I have to say, by all means go by them.

#1 Does it for me!

My Thoughts: