Price for prints?

Wheels1388

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello All,

I am a student at the Art Institute of Colorado only a few months from graduating with a BA in Photography. I've had a few inquires in regards to shooting family photos. It's not really more forte doing portraits but, i have told a few family friend clients that I would charge $100 if they were to purchase prints through myself or $200 if they would like a CD/DVD with 10+ HQ Edited Images. I know this isnt a great deal of money for such shooting but, my question is what would be a good price range for prints?

I can do prints from Wallet size all the way up to 17" x w/e roll paper. High dollar paper. Does anyone have a good price range for the average joe family they could give me a rough price range on?

Thank you very much!

So, you are printing them yourself? If so, you need to caluculated how much it cost you to print each item on X paper before you can decide on a price range.

Thats correct. I have access to some very nice printers here at the school and I normally use Moab paper for prints. A box of 50 sheets of 11x17 is roughly $1.50 a sheet but, we all know to jack up the price for prints. I just don't really know where to start. If I were to go off of what I pay for paper that would only be about $5-6 for an 11x17 which I know can go for a lot more. for 8.5 x 11 a box of decent paper is $50 for a box of 100 so the prices would be super low. Is that what I need to go for? just charge 3-4x what each piece of paper would cost or more?

Welcome aboard.

I'm a bit surprised that this isn't something that would be covered, somewhere along the line in getting a BA in Photography.