Auto Dealership photographer seeking tips/criticism

Ryan_Conroy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone, as the title states I'm a photographer at a car dealership and I'm hoping i can find some good advice/help on how to improve the quality of my photo's. I was pulled out from being a porter to this position roughly a year ago and didn't have any knowledge of photography prior. I started out with a canon powershot P&S and just recently upgraded to a Nikon D5100. I shoot with the 18-55mm lens that came with and have a circular polarizer.

Some of the issues I feel I can't get over are getting the right white balance, shooting on bright sunny days, as well as getting the interior pictures to come out well and just overall not having super sharp images.

For exterior i usually shoot F8, matrix meter, Vivid picture control, iso 100-200 and an appropriate shutter speed for exterior pictures and also have ADL on auto as well as white balance auto.

For interior it's usually ADL off, F8,built in Flash (varying power), iso 800-1000, matrix meter. auto WB and standard picture control

Now i know it's just dealership photography and i know my photo's are enough to advertise the car, i just would like to be good at what i do and love that i get to mix my passion for cars with my new found passion for photography!

Here's the link to our website, Crystal Lake IL Used Cars | Anderson Motors of Crystal Lake I mainly focus on making our used cars look the best as well as our new bmw's.

Also if it helps, i'm pretty much forced to shoot in that area for all the cars and shoot between 9am to about 1pma and have pretty much no time for editing, another footnote, our website host's images at 4:3 aspect ratio so i have to compensate for the edges of my photo's being cut off:meh:

Thanks in advanced for any help!