mjcmt

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Website
www.flickr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've been desiring to get a new camera for quite a while.
I've been shooting w/ a Fuji X100T fixed lens for over 4 years. It's been great but I'm wanting greater versatility and image quality.

I'm retired and on a real tight budget, so I'm thinking of the Nikon Z5 and 24-70 lens -or- Fuji XT30 w/ 16 2.8 and 35 2.0 lenses. The Fuji is more compact CMOS and a bit cheaper, while the Nikon is FF. Which do you think is the better camera for my needs as described below:

In the past I've shot a lot of B&W, but would like to shoot more color so looking for rich natural colors and good dynamic range. I'd like to shoot more nature photos besides my usual people photos. Maybe print some 11x14's to spread around our home, or maybe a coffee table book for family and friends.

My photos are pretty average and all over the place so I'd don't feel I need anything pro or expensive.
What do you think of the cameras and lenses I listed?

Here is a sample of my photographs to help you with my decission:
Michael Tabor

Thank you in advance for your advice,
Mike

Out of those two cameras Nikon Z5 for better IQ, better dynamic range, far better ISO performance and superior ergonomics. Not even close to being in the same league. Plus unlike the XT-30 Nikon is weather sealed splash/dust proof.

Last edited: