Pricing question - Photos for restaurant

lisa_13

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've been asked by a local restaurant to photograph their sandwiches, about 25 different types. They just want each sandwich to be plated and photographed on a plain white background, for use on their website only. Any ideas about what I should be charging for this? Also should I quote them a rate per sandwich, or just give them a day rate? Thanks in advance as I am new to pricing in this area.

Your cost of doing business, your cost of goods sold, your market and your business plan (specifically, your profit margin) are the ONLY way to set your prices. Certainly not what anonymous people on an internet forum think.

I seriously don't know why so many people ask us what they should charge.

You may want to invest in some commerical usage licensing software because pricing varies by market area, and Boston is a more expensive market than central Iowa is.
fotoQuote ? Stock and Assignment Photography Price Guide
I also recommend you visit www.ASMP.org and on the left click on Business Resources.

After charging my creative fee for making the photographs, I licensed web site usage (non-exclusive) of my photographs by size and time -3 months, 6 months and 1 yr.

Online photo usage at up to 400x400 px was $35 for 3 months usage/photo. Up to 600x600 px was $50 for 3 months usage/photo. Licensing fees for larger than 600x600 were determined on a as needed basis.

For 1 yr at up to 400x400 px the license fee was $115, and for up to 600x600 px the 1yr license fee was $165.

For 25 photos I would give a price break on the usage licensing depending on the length of time the client wanted to use the photos. A restaurant would likely want to use the same photos for several years.