Pricing question

KAikens318

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have a family photo shoot coming up and I am trying to figure out if this is good for pricing or not. She has already told me that she doesn't mind paying a little more for photos because they are worth it, which is awesome. I am just not sure if these prices are too steep for my current skill level. I am still a beginner, I don't have a ton of experience, but I do have some. I have good equipment for the shoot.

This will be a 2 hour shoot, maybe a little more, of 3 kids, 2 parents, and then the kids individually and the mom individually. All photos will be shot outdoors in their yard.

This is what I was thinking for packages and prices. The last time she got family photos done she paid $1000.

Package 1: $250
2 8x10s
1 10x13
6 5x7s
10 4x6
24 wallets

Package 2: $300
CD w/ 25 images
1 10x13
2 8x10s
2 5x7s
16 wallets

Package 3: $350
CD w/30 images
1 10x13
2 8x10
2 5x7s
16 wallets

Package 4: $400
CD w/ all images
1 16x20
1 10x13
2 8x10s framed
4 5x7s
16 wallets

Does that seem like too much, too little, or just right? The kids are ages 9-14 so they won't be a hassle, she wants a few formal poses but mostly fun family ones such as the kids playing on the trampoline and such.

kind of difficult to assess w/o knowing/seeing your work. If it is as good as sears, I'd say your charging TOO MUCH :)

Pricing has to be considered relative to what it costs you to do business.

You price has to cover your non-reimbursed business expenses, your slalary and retirement contributions, and your cost to produce the goods you sell.

Setting your prices any other way makes it impossible to know if you are actually making money or not.

To do a 2 hour shoot you will do at least 4 hours of work and it should be more like 6 hours.

In addition to what has been said so far, I have a question. The CD's you are offering in your packages, will they have the files at their full resolution?