Professional Lenses for High Fashion

MadFlair

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello all!

I'm new here and just made my account. I'm a fashion photographer who is now moving into serious professional photography and I really need some advice. I looked through the forum but I can't find the exact answers I'm looking for, hopefully someone here can help :) Firstly let me apologise for any bad english I have, it is not my first language.

Some information on my current situation:
Currently I shoot on an old (now semi-broken) Canon 50D with a few very basic (manual) focus lenses (sub $300 lenses). Everything I do is manual; my camera is a bit broken and focusing is almost non-existent. I spend hours trying to get a photo to look ok, it's hard work. I also shoot on a SONY DSC-W30 (yes I know...bad bad). So now you know where I'm coming from. :)

I'm about to upgrade to a Canon 5D Mark III (if the Mark IV doesn't come out in the first half of the new year, if it does then I guess Mark IV). I need good recommendations on what lenses I should be looking at to get high quality results like those seen in high fashion magazines. So please keep this camera body in mind.

This is the kind of style I want to be shooting: Lina Tesch Photography
I really like her colours and the quality of her images. Before anyone says things on photoshop and lighting, I'm sure they all play a big part too, not only the lenses. I currently use CS6 but I don't have any flashes in my gear (I've been using the on-camera flash on the 50D).

So, what kind of lenses do I need to upgrade to so I can achieve this kind of style? I shoot fashion (editorial style and campaigns). I sometimes shoot indoors in studio and sometimes I shoot outside in most environments (cold, hot, wind, sunny, low light). I believe I have some skill already, but this is not my place to decide, so I'm hopefully looking for people to recommend professional gear for me to be using.