Professional Photography...

LittleMan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.sorberaguitars.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have really been thinking lately about what I am going to be doing with my life/what I will do for a living to make money...
My dream is to be a photographer that travels all over the world working for some catalogue or business. The problem is, I don't know where to start! For one.... I don't know whether I should get a college degree or just spend the time I would be doing that working on my portfolio and making it amazing/learning languages. (am very good with languages)
It is very difficult for me because I am a complete idiot when it comes to math and I don't even think I can get into college because of that... I have a professional photographer friend (Joe Webb) who is a very famous photographer in these parts and is willing to train me more (I have already taken some classes from him)

What should I do... :meh: I am working on getting a new professional canon 35mm camera so I will at least have some good equipment. I am just stuck with no idea what to do next...

Any help would be nice...

Well, I would say school. I wouldn't worry about the math. Start yourself at a community college first. I got a chance to sit down with Tony Spina. He was a pulitzer prize winning photographer in Detroit. He recommended without a doubt, get a college education.

Not only will you get an education, you will meet so many people that would have the possibility to help you in the future. Networking is major.

I'm not going to give you advice on what to do but I'll tell you what my boyfriend and I have done because we've both done it very differently! (sorry for the book i've written!)