Progression of learning photography??

Sammie_Lou

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Just a question for those out there that are mostly self-taught....how exactly did your photography skills progress? I got my DSLR back in June. Admittedly, I know that I haven't spent as much time learning my camera as I should have. Besides that, I'm a slow learner in general. So far, I've taught myself how to shoot in manual...how ISO, aperture and shutter speed work to create proper exposure. I think I've got a pretty basic handle on it. It's not 2nd nature yet, but I can figure it out in a decently short amount of time. I'm wondering what the next natural step is to take in learning photography. Every time I think I have an idea of how things go, I read a thread that leaves me reeling because of the huge amounts of info that I can't even comprehend yet. So, I'm wondering what makes the most sense to learn next?? I'm not at the point where I can afford a Nikon brand flash right now, but I could probably afford something around $75-100, just to learn on. Should I be trying to learn a flash next? Or is there another step in-between that I'd be skipping? Thanks in advance for any input!

I'm probably around the same point as you (shooting in manual and able to adjust iso, aperture and shutter speed to get what I want out of a pic). The thing I've really started paying attention to lately that's helped it become A LOT easier is my light meter. Also, have you started using your histograms? They've given me much bigger awareness.
Honestly, I bought an sb700 about a month ago, but haven't used it much yet because I've been so focussed on really improving my exposure awareness. Hopefully I'll get to it soon though!