ps retard question.

303villain

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Ok ive got a photograph(see below for example..) and i want the subject(in this situation the fountain/the reflection on the water) to be in focus, but the background to be distorted or blurred to the point where i cant recognize all of the clutter in the background that i hate. how can i do this in ps? i was told to use a gaussian(sp?) blur but i couldnt quite figure it out! im new to ps... :lmao:

thanks!

-->
HPIM0634.jpg

Make a duplicate layer. Then apply the blur to the top layer. Now you can erase the top layer in the places that you want to be sharp.

Or better yet, use a layer mask and mask off the areas that you want to be sharp. The layer mask gives you more flexibility, as you can paint the mask on or off as you go.

Don't forget to straighten the horizon. :)

Using a mask is the best option with this photo. Don't be intimindated, masks are pretty easy...read your PS manual. :)

ya, thats not the picture im using, but it was the first one i saw when i was looking at my photobucket. the other has a straight horizon.

i didnt get a ps manual :(

Another option is to lasso the area you want to blur. once selected - inverse your selection (should be under "select" )and then apply what every you want to the inversed area.

There are some good books out there about PS and tons & tons of web pages. Once you get a handle on what you are trying to do...search it up.

Of course, trial & error is fun too.

cs2. the trial and error bit has gotten me pretty far so far, but im using someone elses computer to access the internet, and theres no wireless here, so i cant spend tons of time online looking, i will when i get back from my vacation though, i went and bought a digital photo book today, pretty nifty so far!