Published photographer?

KMH_86

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey all, if I’m commissioned by an advertising/marketing company to capture some images and then they are used to digitally advertise them for their client, would that technically make me a “published” photographer?

If I’m commissioned to capture photos of a local company who is paying for an advertisement in a golf magazine, when the ad is ran would this technically make me a published photographer?

I’m not looking to boast either way I’m just a little confused about what truly constitutes someone as being a published photographer. Thank you!

I don't know. I think it depends on (1) how you define "publish" and (2) the subsequent use of the word publish in a phrase such as, "I'm a published photographer". I feel like there's a slight nuance to the word that may be lost or misinterpreted depending on context.

Tirediron, is it simply because my photos are being distributed publically?

Waday, why does it seem like it’s a grey area and the word publish is open to interpretation?

Thanks!

If your photographs are published then you are clearly a published photographer - it doesn't mean anything else, mind.

Sent from my 8070 using Tapatalk

Waday, why does it seem like it’s a grey area and the word publish is open to interpretation?
Like many things in this world (including your questions), it's not necessarily black and white. For example, I write reports for clients, and those reports are publicly available. But, I wouldn't consider myself "published" for writing those reports.

If your photographs are published then you are clearly a published photographer - it doesn't mean anything else, mind.

Sent from my 8070 using Tapatalk

Above 100%, as I had a lot of my own images published in a book with some others to give to a very ill young girl.

Last edited:
Now that you mention it, that makes me a published artist. Whoo-Hoo!