Purchasing a large format printer.

photowilly

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi Guys,

Let me start by saying I know pretty much nothing about printers.

I am a landscape photographer, been shooting about 3 years. When I look back in the last year and a half at what I have spent with my local printer, about $16000.00 US, I am considering buying a printer. I would be printing on paper and canvas, and I go fairly large with my prints, say 42 by 28 on a lot of the canvas's, plus 2.5" clone plus 1.5" white on each side, so the loose canvas is 36" wide. Sometimes I go larger than that, but I would want to be able to at least get that if I purchase a printer.

Can anyone point me in any direction? Which brand do you prefer? Why? How is customer support? What kind of maintenance is involved in owning a printer? and What type of ink do I use, I don't want fading, and I don't want any problems with ink not adhering well to canvas. What paper and canvas do you use? Any idea of a estimate on what it cost per square foot to print on paper and on canvas?

Thanks

Last edited:
I would pay the small membership fee, and look into The Luminous Landscape's many articles related to large format printers and printing. This forum's probably not gonna have a lot of information. Frankly, $100 a month for printing seems like a pittance to me, compared with the costs of inks and papers, and time spent, and so on. The cost of ink has gone up pretty high. I think outsourcing the printing might be more cost-effective for manby people.