Question about Copyright Issues for planned video

DreamTime

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello

I am an amateur photographer, have done a lot of photography over the years, but very little making of videos. As one of my very first ever elaborate video proejcts, I had an idea idea for a short video story, in which I was planning to use purchased toys as the story's characters. I then wondered how copyright issues might relate to this plan. Initially, I had planned to create the video and then post it publicly on YouTube. Now, after reading some basic info on copyrights, I am thinking that since I am using purchased toys in it, which have patents on them, I may not be able to share the film with the general public. I then wondered if it would be okay to post the video on YouTube as "unlisted" and share it only with friends, and/or link to it on my website.

What are your views on this issue? Has this kind of question come up before? I searched online to try to find answers, but though I find information about using others' photos or writing, I can't find much about using toys. Is there a difference that you can see between commerical and non-commerical use, or would copyright apply to all use in a creative film project like this?

Kudos for considering possible legal implications of what you plan to do.

An online photography forum is however, not a reliable place to seek legal advice.
However patents, and trademarks, are something different from copyrights.

Copyright law differs country by country. There is no location info in your profile.

www.copyright.gov for US copyright law.
www.uspto.gov for US patent & trademark law.

In the US there is indeed a difference between commercial and editorial (non-commercial) usage.

Last edited:
I'm in the USA....