Question about lense: 250 vs 270

taminator

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello! I'm looking at buying a Tamron 18-270 wide angle zoom lense for my Canon EOS Rebel xti. But there's also an 18-250 that's about $230 cheaper. Is it really worth the extra money to get the 270? I have a 70-300 lense now along with a 19-35 wide angle and I'm tired of carrying 2 lenses and having to change them out.

I really don't want to lose much of the zoom b/c I love the 300. But when I played around with the lengths today it was hard to tell a huge difference going from 200 to 250 and to 300.

Hope this makes sense. I only use the camera on our vacations and to take lots of outdoor shots. Oh and I'm an extremely amateur photographer!

Thanks
Tammy

id say check out the reviews, 99 percent of the time the more money the better the lens. id honestly stick with what you have and deal with the inconvenience.

Need more details about minimum aperture, image stabilization, etc. Wide to telephoto zooms usually have drawbacks compared to dedicated wide angle zooms(such as yours) and telephoto zooms.

Hmm, they both are very similar, and reviews on B&H seem equal for both. Try looking for professional reviews on both, that higher price price point has to come from somewhere. Sadly I'm not familiar with Tamron lenses. I'll look around. Only significant difference I saw was the 18-250 has a slightly shorter focusing distance.