Question about my new camera and telephoto lens.

vanillakirsty

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone. I am kind of new at photography. For the past few years I have used a tiny Canon PowerShot just as a fun hobby to get photos of wildlife. I never really cared too much about the quality at first. I took many art classes in college including ones that taught photoshop and photo editing. I learned all about balance and how to adjust photos to have better lighting. Before I got my PowerShot camera I never thought much of photography. I used to concentrate more on drawing, but then I found out how fun it was to take photos of animals and wildlife.
Here is a picture I got of a fox with my little camera:

A couple months ago I decided that I wanted to get better at photography and that I needed a professional camera, so I bought a Canon Rebel T5. It came with one telephoto lens (an EF 75-300mm f/4-6.6 III). Since I take photos of wildlife I wanted a lens that could get really good detail from far away. I'm still a beginner, so I don't know anything about lenses. The first day I tried my new camera and telephoto lens I was able to get this picture of a hummingbird: