Question about own website

RBL

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi all,

I am not sure where to post my question, hope this is a good place.

I am an amateur photographer. I like to photograph landscapes (amongst other things, but for the purpose of this thread let's just concentrate on the landscape photography). For some time I am thinking about selling some of my photographs, uploaded some of them to couple stock photography agencies, just to see if there is any interest in them. Well, I'm sure you all know and I know now as well, that landscape work does not sell well on stock market (seems like the only thing that sells is the 'happy office people' type of photography. I am not disappointed, because I was expecting that.

Anyway, my next step would be to create my own website and start selling pictures from there. Now, this costs money and I'm sure you would all agree, that nobody likes to throw money away.

For the people with own website already working for some time, is the website bringing you any profit? Is this something you would do again? Are you selling photographs on your website or is the www just there as an advertisement for your business?

I tried a free website BTW, but did not like the outcome, so I am thinking about hiring a web designer to make me a professional-looking webiste (I might have somebody who wouldn't charge me a stupid amount of money for that).

Any help would be appreciated :wink:

Thank you :thumbup:

Welcome to the forum.