Question on zoom flash; Nikon SB-700.

jwbryson1

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm a bit confused with respect to zoom flash on my new SB-700. Does this flash actually permit the photographer to zoom the flash closer to the subject? How does that work? How is light "zoomed" closer?

Also, should the zoom setting on the flash match the zoom setting on the camera (e.g., both set at 28mm)?

Finally, how does zooming the flash work in conjunction with the lighting "window" distance. In other words, if I'm using i-TTL flash and the settings say I should be between 8-10 feet from my subject, does changing the zoom on the flash change the distance I need to be from my subject?

Sorry for all the questions--I'm a total newbie at off-camera flash and I'm trying to absorb as much information as I can get my brain around.

Thanks!

Zoom means you make the flashed area smaller. If you make it smaller then your flash power is focused on a smaller area and stronger. Let's just say your flash is mounted on camera an you are using 18 mm lens. Then you manually set your flash to let's say 100mm. If you point the flash forward, your photo will look like you have a flash light in the middle of the frame.

Thanks, I think I understand what you are saying. Again, I just got my SB-700 and I'm still experimenting with it and learning how to use it.

Appreciate the feedback.

The flash tube is physically moved within the unit itself. When you're shooting with wide-angle lenses, the tube is moved towards the subject to the light is allowed to spread out more. When you shoot with a telephoto, the tube is moved back, creating more of a 'snoot' effect.

When you have the flash mounted on the camera, you can hear a little motor move the tube as you zoom in and out.

I think the previous posters answered your question...but just to add to that...