RAW images look darker on laptop :(

nkashyap

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi,
I have a situation here..i am a beginner in SLR photography and i usually shoot in RAW using NIKON D5000. Last night i shot a local function in my community and as thr was not enuf light, i had to use ISO 1200 with shutter speed of 60..When i checked the results on camera LCD, the images looked properly exposed and light balance was all perfect.

Today when i transferred these pics to my laptop and opened them in VIEW NX2 to have a look, i was confused..the images were dark..no proper brightness and heavily dark at some parts of the image..i dont understand if the images looks perfectly fine on my camera LCD, why are they lookin so dark and heavily contrasted on my laptop..

Please throw some light on this..

Thanks,
Nishant

Laptop screens are not the best for judging photos.

Discrepancies in calibration and image interpretation.

Also check the brightness of your LCD in your camera menu if it allows you I change the brightness

I had the same issue and it turned out my LCD brightness on the camera was set to +3. I keep it at -2 now and get positive results. Also check the histogram in camera.

I know what you mean. your .jpg version is brighter than your raw version. RAW will be a little darker in lightroom and other post production software because lightroom takes the RAW image and creates its own thumbnail based on the RAW data (it does not use your cameras thumbnail which is used when previewing the picture on your camera) .JPGs are brighter because they already been set by your camera. With RAW photos its just raw data that is recorded and lightroom will take that data and create its own default thumbnail which is usually darker but meant to be editing anyways.

Hope that helps