RAW - what should I know about it and what should I do with it

franco stacy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I can't relate RAW to the film world, so I am little lost on what it is or what I should know about it. How should I be using, configuring, or editing it. I basically take a picture, download it to my PC and either leave it as it or try to edit it with some type of software (which is also something I am not good at) Just recently came back to photography from sulking about film dying for a guy like me. So I bought a D90 and have barely used it. Recently started using it and I love the flexibility of shooting massive amount of pictures and gettting instand feedback. BUT I can't relate RAW to film and therefore I don't know if that is something I should check, adjust, manipulate, upload differently to my PC, edit a jpeg or a raw.

Is it something I should consider before the shot, during the shot or after the shot?

Last edited:
A raw file is just like a film negative... all the information the camera recorded is on it.

A jpeg is just like a wallet-size print.... it contains very little information in relation to the amount of information on the negative. You can make a 16x20 print with a negative, but a 16x20 made from the information on the wallet-size print would look absolutely terrible.

Once you learn what raw really is, and learn how to work with them, you'll kick yourself for shooting solely jpegs.

Franco, shooting with RAW will allow you to fix the WB after you shoot it. If you were to shoot it with JPEG it doesnt work as well. Also RAW has a lot more information in the data than JPEG. If you miss the exposure by 2 stops, it is still salvageable most of the time where JPEG if you have blown sky, then you are stuck with it. You should be able to edit basic stuff (white balance, exposure, saturation etc.) with the software that came with your camera.