jamesbjenkins

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.ballengerphotos.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey all,

In the last few months, I've been working out my new business plan for the next 3-5 years. I haven't been happy with the response on the portrait market, mainly because of a completely saturated market in my area. I've been researching lots of successful real estate photographers, and building my style of real estate photography.

I recently had the opportunity to shoot the home of a friend of mine who's a general contractor and partner in his dad's real estate agency. This session was an audtition for doing regular business with my friend. I'd love some feedback on these images, since this is the very first time I've ever shot real estate.

Note: the home is brand new construction, completed the very day I shot the session (you can still see some tape on the vent hood that was painted that morning). There is no turf in the yard, thus I have no exterior shots. C&C welcome.

1. stovetop / cabinets

2. sink

3. details on the cabinets

4. showing off the granite counters

5. under counter details

6. living room pano

7. fireplace pano

8. tray ceiling

9. bathroom sink

10. bathroom pano

11. kitchen pano (I'm going to fix the barrel distortion on the right edge)

--

I used 5 shot brackets and HDR processing for all of these images. I'm still working on getting a consistent output I'm happy with. How do you guys shoot real estate? C&C on the images, and suggestions on the session itself are much appreciated. Thanks for your time.

Not bad; definitely a step up from 99% of what you see on MLS websites; a few thoughts: The main issue that grabs me is blown highlights. In #1, it's the under-cabinet lighting, In 5, 6, 10 & 11 it's either windows or lighting fixtures. Many times dimmers are fitted, in which case you can use those to reduce the output of the lights, or even bring in your own low-wattage bulbs if need be.