Really Newbie

ntieu22

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey guys im new at photography... My cousin had the nikon d700 and i love the way the pics came out.. i was wondering ist here anything similar to that but cheaper... let me know thanks

The D700 is a pro level camera but most Digital SLR (DSLR) cameras are pretty good...better than typical point & shoot digital cameras anyway.

There are several 'entry level' DSLR cameras that can be found for less than $1000. I'd start with the Nikon D60 or the Canon Rebel XSi.

Now keep in mind that there is a lot more than just the camera that goes into a photograph. The lens makes a big difference, and I'd guess that if you cousin has a D700, they also have a pretty good lens to shoot with....and good lenses aren't cheap.

Lastly, it's the photographer that really makes a good photo. So if you really want to improve your own photography, you money would be better spent on some books or a class...than just getting a fancy new camera.

yea i was thinking the d90 or the cannon g9 what u think is worth it.. i wanna spend like 500-1k

yea i was thinking the d90 or the cannon g9 what u think is worth it.. i wanna spend like 500-1k
There is a big difference between those two cameras. The G9, is a good camera, but it's not an SLR type camera which means that it has a rather tiny image sensor and its lens is not interchangeable. The D90 is a DSLR camera which has a good sized sensor and the ability to change lenses.

there is def a big price diffrence in the d90 and the d700.. will the picture quality of a d90 and a d700 be similiar.. besides other features...

there is def a big price diffrence in the d90 and the d700.. will the picture quality of a d90 and a d700 be similiar.. besides other features...