Rebel T2i Lens

MsTickledPink

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
In need of some help with lens info asap :)

I have the 2 lens that came with my kit but now that I am more comfortable with the camera I am ready to invest in the better glass.
Not concerned about price I want the best quality I can get. I was told L series are best & not to use off name brands?
I'm a novice not familar with the lingo so much all I know is I need lens's that will be great for portaits, parties/weddings, sports & of course a great macro.

L = Luxury and is the best Canon lenses.
The not-off-name brands comes from a couple of things (in my knowledge) - reverse engineered focus, so not as good; and iffy quality control has been seen with some lenses.

If I had a virtually unlimited budget:
Portrait:
50mm f/1.2L
85mm f/1.2L
135mm f/2L
but if you want to do environmental portraits you'll probably want something wider

Parties/Weddings:
For weddings it would normally involve two bodies and a lot more than just lenses, but often fast zooms, say
16-35mm f/2.8L, and
70-200mm f/2.8L IS each with their own body (and FF more than crop)

Sports:
85mm f/1.8 for court
300mm f/2.8L for field

Macro:
100mm f/2.8L IS Macro, or for greater reach (very long on crop)
180mm f/3.5L Macro

In short; you'll need to be more specific or direct in what you want to move into next.

Also, don't forget Zeiss... it's not Canon, and they don't autofocus, but I wouldn't trade mine for anything. In fact I'm thinking of trading my canon 28 for a zeiss 35 one of these days. They have a unique character and are absolutely top quality.

Yeah, don't apply the off-brand comments to Zeiss
Next to the EF 50mm f/1.2L many would choose from the Zeiss options for those characteristics of the lens which aren't discussed in many technical reviews.

Anywhere near wide open would be near impossible to focus with the standard focusing screen in the 550D though.