Recommendation for Vlogging Camera under $500

Dionysus18

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am looking for a good budget vlogging camera. I have done extensive googling. I found these :

#1.Sony DSCHX80/B
#2.Sony a5100 Mirrorless
#3.Canon EOS M10
#4.Canon PowerShot G9 X Mark II
#5.Canon PowerShot SX730

I am having a tough time choosing according to my preferences. Main priorities :
Autofocus, Stabilization. My channel will be focussed on video essays on science topics but I'll do some outdoor shooting as well. It'll be really helpful if someone recommends a good budget camera. I am completely new to this, so I am having trouble choosing. As far as video quality is concerned, I'm okay with not shooting in 4K.

Last edited:
I'm curious how exactly you came up with that list.... Anyway, I'm bored so I looked them all up, and in order here is my opinion on which would be best... Really it comes down to 1 or 2 vs 3 or 4, mirrorless DSLR vs bridge.

m100 (updated m10) $400
A5100 $550
Sx740 (just a few $$more than sx730) $400
Dschx80 $368
G9 x mk2 (wouldn't even consider this one) $468

1 and 2. The cannon and Sony mirrorless DSLR's have pretty close to the same specs, but the Canon is $150 cheaper and has digital video stabilization

2 and 3. Again,p close for a few bucks more than the sx730, you can get the sx740, which does do 4k video, making it the only one that can do that.

Now, the upside of the bridge cameras is their huge zoom, nearly 1000mm for the Canon, and 720mm for the Sony, and optical image stabilization. The downside is the mirrorless dslr's image sensors are 10x bigger, which means better looking pictures and better low light performance...