Recommendation for wide angle and macro lens for the Rebel Xti?

Turando

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,

I decided to purchase a Canon Rebel Xti and wanted to get two lenses with it - wide angle and macro lens. The first is for landscape photography and the second is for up close shots of products for our online store.

Any recommendations for lenses for the Canon?

My budget I'm not sure of but I don't want to spend 1000 on a lens. So something that is decent and not too high in price would be great. I'm new to photography so all my research is making my brain hurt :)

If I get a lens for landscapes and then a lens for macro would I need another lens for normal photography of family and friends?

Thanks in advance

what kind of product do you sell.....are you sure you need a macro for product shots? you can always shot and crop when posting online.....of course i dont know what you are selling and you might really need macro to get very fine details....just a thought

Hi,

I don't need really any fine detail. Just close up shots of things like pdas, mobile phones, mp4 players etc. I'm pretty new to all this so I kind of just assumed macro might be needed though someone did mention that maybe a normal lens could take the shots as well.

I am going overseas and need to get the things I need before then so I haven't been able to do that much research on which lenses would be good to take :)

My needs are pretty average I'd say. I want to take photos during our travels of various places and take photos of our products. That'll help me to get used to the camera and then I can always add on other lenses if I get really into it. With our travel photos (which is what I mentioned the wide-angle lens for) I want to be able to blow them up a bit (not huge or anything) and print them.

Thankyou!