Ring lighting.

ohnoleann

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, I am new to this forum, and was wondering if anyone can recommend a good ring light? I have a Nikon D3000. I have looked onto bhphoto and saw a "polaroid macro led ring flash" for Nikon cameras for $39.99. I don't really know much about ring lights, brands or quality. I am hoping someone can shed some light about them and recommend a good quality one! Thanks!

Leann

That's do-able; do you want an actual strobe, or will an LED/continuous illuminator work? What are you using it for?

That's do-able; do you want an actual strobe, or will an LED/continuous illuminator work? What are you using it for?

i'm not really familiar with lighting, so I am not sure what the difference is? I am just starting out, but I would like to use it for indoor use. More of small objects around, like a vase of flowers and such. Not really for portraits.

For still objects and macro and such, a continuous light is cheapest and will work perfectly well.
For example this $35 LED ring, battery or AC powered, can control the sides separately, fits on anything since it uses a filter thread system

Amazon.com: NEEWER® Macro Ring LED Light - Works with Canon/Sony/Nikon/Sigma lenses: Camera & Photo

A little bit of sandpaper on the white plastic shield would probably help diffuse the light a bit more. Don't like that you can see the individual LEDs inside. But minor issue.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.