Santa brought me an A6000 for Christmas (first impression)

greybeard

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've been using a Nikon D7000 for the past 2 years and have several lenses and accessories for it. The A6000 interested me because of size and features. Mine is black and came with the standard 16-50 kit lens. Charging the battery involves using a USB wal-wart that connects directly to the camera and takes several hours to charge. I ordered a 3rd party charger and 2 extra batteries ahead of time for around $25. They seem to work just fine. I also ordered a Nikon G and a Minolta MD lens adapter ahead of time so I can play around with some of my other lenses. I just ordered a Nissin i40S flash that should be here next week. I'll probably get the 55-200 e eventually to go with it. The camera reminds me a little of my old Sony 828. It is a mirrorless design but with a fixed zoom. The A6000 is tiny and will fit in your coat pocket. It is comfortable to shoot with as it has an eyelevel finder as well as the viewing screen. I shot about 100 frames with it so far and the IQ is OK. I'm only shooting JPEG for now as the 16-50 kit lens has so much distortion that I'm just letting the camera do the correction. I've pixel peeped a few shots and I can honestly say that the sensor is much sharper than this 16-50 lens but, it is OK for just general stuff. There are many many gimmicky features that the serious photographer will pass over, they clutter up the menus and I think I can move them around so as to get them out of my way.

Things I like so far:
1. 11 frames per second. It sounds like a sewing machine maxed out. Unreal.
2. Auto Focus. Fast and accurate.
3. Manual Focus. Much better than any dSLR
4. Ability to adapt any lens. I've tried my Nikon 35mm and 16-85 DX and they manually focuses like a rangefinder. Works better than I expected.
5. Size, lite and fits in your pocket