Santa Photos -- Should I be the photographer or should I pass?

jwbryson1

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Normally, my neighborhood hires a "pro" to do our Breakfast with Santa where the photographer takes images of kids with SC near the tree and the HOA provides refreshments. It's a nice event.

The Chair of the Social Committee has asked if I'd like to do the photos this year because she knows I am a hobbyist. I have several umbrellas, stands, etc., but no soft boxes. I shoot with a D90 and my "best" lens for this type of work is probably my 50mm 1.8. I also have the Tokina 100mm 2.8 but the focal length will not work indoors. My widest lens is the 18-200 but it's pretty slow.

Most of the pros in years past have their own website and sell images on a "per print" basis.

I have a Flickr account, and accounts at various other websites like Snapfish, etc.

Am I unprepared for this type of work? I took X-mas photos last year for free of some neighborhood friends at their request. Those photos can be seen here: http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/photography-beginners-forum/266204-first-pro-shoot-today.html

Thoughts? Suggestions?

Thanks.

It could be a bit of fun and experience. If you want to get paid it is different but if its just on a good deed basis your gear is more than good enough

Thanks, and agreed.

Anybody else? 111 views and 1 reply?

I say yes. Do it. You'll be fine. And remember, this is the internet so if things go awry you can't come back and blame me. :cheers: