sb-400 or sb-600?

Tbini87

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys. I have been looking into some gear lately and have noticed some talk of using better flash than the flash that comes on my D40. I am relatively new to photography and mostly shoot landscape, but my wife likes shooting people and especially babies. I was wondering how helpful/useful a speedflash like the sb400 or sb600 would be.

Also, if a speedlight is necessary, would you recommend the sb-400, the sb-600, or something else altogether? I currently am using a D40. I don't want to spend a ton of money on a flash, but also don't want to wish that i had more power and options in a couple of months if i went with something basic like the sb400. Any recommendations and information would be great! Thanks.

welcome to the wonderful world of flash photography where you actually DRAW your subject :)

SB400 is a prettier version of your built in flash. It is more powerful but in terms of quality of the light = builtin (ok in a jam).
sb600 - allow you to ratate the head => so called directionality --> ability to shoot in somewhat of a ratio thus your image won't be flat and boring.
I'd recommend sb800 if you can find one - its more powerful them 600 but offers extra shooting options which in my opinion are more power/output consistent then ttl.
sb900 - its a 50/50 thing with some ppl loving it and other cursing at it for it shut-off tenancies.

There are some generic units out there with ttl capabilities, but again its a matter of preference to use those or not. Some ppl like them and others hate them.

welcome to the wonderful world of flash photography where you actually DRAW your subject :)

SB400 is a prettier version of your built in flash. It is more powerful but in terms of quality of the light = builtin (ok in a jam).