Senior shoot

sibebabe

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
We didn't have a lot of time but we got a few good ones! I am very new to strobes so it was take a picture mess with lights. Great learning session for me!!

Attachments

• $image-2648211633.jpg
    $image-2648211633.jpg
    59.5 KB · Views: 133
  • $image-3557026092.jpg
    $image-3557026092.jpg
    58.9 KB · Views: 107
  • $image-2131225549.jpg
    $image-2131225549.jpg
    70.8 KB · Views: 116
  • $image-997171184.jpg
    $image-997171184.jpg
    47.4 KB · Views: 133
One thing that stands out to me (for future consideration) is that you've mis-keyed these (considering that they are portraits). In other words, you have him in dark clothing against a light backdrop. The result is that it's the clothing that contrasts and stands out the most. That's OK, if your goal was to emphasize the clothes over the person, but I don't think that is what you're going for here.

The better way to do it, is to 'key' the background to the clothing (or vise versa). This is so that it's the subjects skin (face) are the areas of greatest contrast. This immediately draws the viewer's eye to the subject's face and makes for a stronger photo.

Also, if you are going for the 'bright field' white backdrop look, you need to be able to light it up brightly and evenly. Usually best to do that with at least two lights just for the backdrop.

I think Mike pretty much nailed it. Senior sessions aren't a big thing in my part of Canada, so I don't have a lot of first hand experience, but I don't see many done in-studio against a monochrome background. It's just nto that exciting... look for backgrounds and settings that really show off the personality of the individual, or have meaning to him/her. The football field would have been a great setting for these. To get an idea of how these can look when they're executed by an expert, check out member twocolor's work in the pro gallery.