Shooting groups of people

abaddon07

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi, I'm fairly new to photography but I am having one issue above all others - shooting groups of people. My issue is that I'm not quite sure what settings to use to achieve the most crisp image throughout.

I am using a Canon 5D with the 24-105 IS L lens. It's a great camera and takes amazing photos but again - the photos are only as good as the photographer.

Which leads me to the question (finally, right?)....how can I focus on 3, 4 or even more people simultaneously and get crisp images? I can increase aperture to F.8, but will that be enough? Sometimes you will notice under close scrutiny that only some people are in focus. I adjust and move around focus points and even when I switch to manual focus and try to adjust accordingly, it doesn't always work.

Any help/suggestions with this issue would be greatly appreciated!

First: Welcome to the forum

Second; much of the crispness not only comes from the lens, but from other factors all working together.

Third: Watch the composure of the shot and go to the place ahead of time to practice the lighting, etc.
Crispness comes from a good lens, and especially good lighting. The better the lighting, the better image will be.
Use a med. Wide angle setting… approx. 28-35mm for groups. When you can afford one, get an 85mm-100mm portrait lens. Try to get a lens with a 65mm and higher front element. This will allow for a wider aperture to shoot with and allow more saturation. Shoot a slow an ISO low enough for the lighting, this will greatly eliminate noise.
Shoot a group with a typ. F-8.5-f16. Unless they are in a line. If so, focus on the person in front, set the F-stop to 22 or higher, and take the shot.

Lighting, lighting, lighting. Get as much lighting that you can get, and watch eyeglasses. Angle people and lights to prevent light flare. Sunglasses are not good because they make people look like Dead Eddy.