Shooting my daughter's softball game...

TamiAz

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I need help with my camera settings..My daughter has a softball tournament today and I'll be taking some pictures... The tournament is all day, so I'll be shooting in full sunlight. I may be sitting in the shade shooting out into the field or standing on the side in complete sunlight. I've been using manual mode and using the exposure indicator to help me, but it seems to be hit or miss..I'm still learning about exposure, so any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you. :mrgreen:

To shoot action sports for pay I used aperture priority, spot metering mode, and continuous focus. You don't mention what camea, not what lens(s) you have available to use.

I put my ISO in Auto mode to let it float, and kept a close eye on the shutter speed displayed in the viewfinder to make sure it never dropped below 1/500.

It doesn't matter if your camera is in the shade or in sunlight. The in-camera light meter measures how much light is reflected from where you meter. In the case of Spot metering mode, wherever in the scene it is you place the spot. In the case of Matrix/Evaluative metering the reflected light in the entire scene is averaged.

The key to good action sports shots is stopping motion, sharp focus, having the ball in the shot, and seeing the players faces and the emotion/intensity their faces display.

Set up so your camera is chest high or lower to the players. It makes them seem more powerful and it helps to minimize background distractions. Watch the backgrounds. You don't want a line of porta-potties back there in the shot.

To shoot action sports for pay I used aperture priority, spot metering mode, and continuous focus. You don't mention what camea, not what lens(s) you have available to use.