Shooting outdoors in low temps

K4MCO

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Evening all,

I'm a total newbie to this so I'm not even sure where to post this so here goes. I would like to shoot outdoors (Railroad and aviation primarily) however I live in the mid atlantic and it does get rather chilly at times and due to the nature of what I'm attempting to shoot it can sometimes involve sitting outdoors in sub freezing temps for long periods of time. My cameras (T2i) op manual states that its good down to 32 degrees. My question is how would you guys suggest keeping the camera warm? I thought maybe some of those in the glove hand warmers in the bag but I'm afraid that will melt/ruin my camera.

Thanks in advance

Sean

Bring extra batteries. They die fast in the cold. I dont believe cold will stop the camera from working.

It'll handle sub-freezing temps just fine. I wouldn't use hand warmers or anything just because it may cause condensation inside your body or lens depending on how you use it. Patriot was right about the batteries. If possible keep the camera or at least the extra batteries inside your jacket or something where your body temp will keep them warm.

What has been mentioned is sound advice. Extra batteries inside your jacket, as close to your body as possible. I shot in -45 for 90 minutes and the cameras were still ok, although the autofocus started to slow down and so did I. Having the hand warmers is a good idea, don't think they will ever get hot enough to damage the camera. When you do go back in side the glass will fog up, and depending on how cold it was everything will end up damp. Don't take the gear back outside into the cold again, it will freeze up. I do know a story where a 600mm f4 Canon lens had that very thing happen to it and it destroyed the auto focus motor.