Shot my first wedding!

BTilson

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am by no means a professional photographer, but due to time and budget constraints I was recruited to do photography for my sisters wedding, with a notice of only four or five days. Naturally, I was somewhat nervous, but as it was for my baby sister, I poured myself into this task, doing mass amounts of research and practice in order to be as prepared as I possibly could.

So the big day finally arrived. I looked over my checklist about thirty times and finally went out the door. Everything was clicking along nicely when, between the ceremony and reception, my memory card bugged out on me. I shoot with a D40 which takes SD cards, but I had a mini SD card in a normal SD card adapter. Thankfully, I was able to procure another decent sized card in time to shoot the reception, sweating the whole time due to worry that I had lost all the shots I had already taken.

Well, I ran to the store today to buy a card reader. Got back home and holding my breath, I put my mini SD card in.

KACHING! All my pictures were still there! It was just the adapter that had died. I almost fainted with relief. So, I am sitting here now, going through the 886 pictures I took, and I must say that I am proud of myself. I did some very nice work, if I do say so myself. Being my first wedding, I am thrilled with 99% of my shots. All in all, it was a successful evening.

Moral of the story however, don't shoot anything critical on cheap memory! I lucked out this time, but it easily could've went the other way.

When I have everything organized and edited, I'll share some of my work and see what everyone thinks.

great story...

would love to see the pix that goes with it.