Should I quit this photography internship?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Matrixgravity

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
OK, I don't know whether or not to call it an internship or volunteer work, but anyway. I have a friend who is a fashion designer, and he recently introduced me to this girl who is a professional Photographer. She has been looking for an intern or rather an assist, to help her out on her shoots. There is no pay involved. It's just for experience. So since I am an amateur Photographer I decided it would be a good opportunity for me to jump on this. So I agreed and I just spent the last two days doing this internship with her, and I gotta say I think I am ready to quit honestly. All I really do is carry her bags around and help her set up the lighting. That's it. Then I literally sit there and spend hours watching her shoot various clients and I honestly thought there would be more hands on work involved but I think it's just really time-consuming doing this internship. Not only do I not get paid, it's a pain. The only upside to this internship is the fact that it helps me get out of the house more since I'm at home all the time. But aside from that, it's not very work-oriented. There isn't much to do.

So I'm thinking about just dropping it all together. But I'm wondering if I will regret this later on? I mean yeah, getting to see her do these shoots first hand is cool, but I already know how its done so I don't think I'm learning much from it all. Overall, I'm wondering if there really is much of a benefit at all. Plus, me and her don't really get along too much. She is a foreigner so our sense of humor is entirely different and she is kinda stingy at times and I hate women like that.. Is this how Photography internships typically even work?

Is there a point to learning aperture, ISO and shutter speed? :)