Sigh...lighting is my worst enemy today. Help?

TenaciousTins

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.facebook.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I work as a caretaker for a family with 5 autistic kids. Today we went to a park. I got some great shots. At the end, they wanted me to take a family photo. This is very hard to do with a family of 5 kids, never mind autistic kids who are very tired and want to go home and use the iPad and eat McDonalds. Then they requested that the "Lake be behind us". Ok. But the problem is, the only place they wanted to stand was in the shade, which was fine except the sun was behind us, as was the lake. I had 30 seconds (literally) before all the kids scattered to the car. Are these at all salvageable? I tried, but the background ended up looking a little too pale. These are SOOC shots.

Thanks! I think next time I should insist on taking the pic where I want to, as there were lots of places to stand that would have been perfect without the sun behind us, but the lake also wouldn't have been behind us. I should also probably have exposed it for the sun and gone from there. I was going to grab my flash but they'd already packed all my equipment in the van :/ Any ideas about what I can do next time would be welcomed!

For reference, this is the tree I had them stand under...only they didn't want to be on this side, so we took it on the other side...still just as bad.

Unfortunately jpeg. Shooting in RAW is something I am new at. I used to shoot in RAW all the time, using DPP to convert them, but it made it so hard to save all the originals and such. I should get over my fear of the work, and just do it.

Shoot raw? Yes, you exposed for the subjects, that's good. There are ways to edit and bring down the highs of the background but the blown skies are lost unless you want to get fancy with composites.