Silhouette CC please

MTVision

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So, this is my very first attempt at shooting a silhouette. I'm not too happy with it but its OK for my first try.

I ended up cropping the bottom of the photo because of a building that was behind him - so there was no definition in his legs. I hate that you can see some branches in the photo with him! I did move around and this was the best I could do in the area I was in. This was taken in an industrial park (just a huge area full of factories) in a yard off to the side of a chocolate factory. This was the only angle that worked.

My SOOC - has glowing edges around the legs and a little around the head. Is that normal? I saw a few other silhouettes on another forum that had the glow/brightness around the figure.

1/3200 ISO 160 f/7.1

Thanks for looking!

I like it but I think the silhouette is underexposed a bit. Almost too "silhouetty" as if you cut out the shape of the person in the image. The edges of the person are really sharp -- almost too sharp. Does this make any sense? I'm struggling with my words.

I like it a lot especially where the sun is on him, the only thing I don't like is that I don't know what he's doing. If he were shooting a basketball or something this would've rocked... Pretty dang good for a first try.

Ahh the thinking man!

Yes that glow you mentioned is the result of having your subject between you and the sun. There's a slight escape of light enough to show an illuminated perimeter =). You can easily use this technique as hair light.

I like it. The trees didn't bother me til I read your post....lol And yep...now they bother me. Just edit them out. Nice shot.